The Lighthouse Girl

When:
May 4, 2017 7:00 pm
Where:
State Theatre Centre of WA
Web:
http://www.bsstc.com.au

A courageous story that inspired the roaming spectacular of The Giants.

Fay, a sweet young girl, lives an isolated life with her lighthouse keeper father on the bleak, windswept Breaksea Island in the Great Southern region of WA. With the outbreak of war in 1914, Fay finds purpose in transcribing Morse code messages from soldiers stationed off shore, becoming their last hope of getting messages to their loved ones before heading to the front line.

On the other side of the country in rural Victoria, Charlie and his best mate Jim abandon the outback for the excitement and adventure of seeing the world. As soldiers in the Light Horse Brigade, they quickly discover the brutal realities of life on the frontline.

This gentle play entwines the lives of Fay and Charlie and brings to life the stories of those left at home during the war waiting, wondering, hoping,  and the struggles of the young men who valiantly enlisted to help defend their country. Based on Albany author Dianne Wolfer’s wonderful novels Lighthouse Girl and Light Horse Boy, this evocatively written play embodies a powerful and truthful sense of a pivotal time in Australia’s development as a nation.

The world premiere of The Lighthouse Girl will take place in Albany at the Albany Entertainment Centre 21-22 April, the birthplace of the ANZAC story, before its season in Perth. Perth season runs from 28 April to 14 May at Studio Underground, State Theatre Centre of WA. Head here for tickets.

Show dates and times:

Friday 28 April: 7pm (preview)
Saturday 29 April: 7pm (opening night)
Tuesday 2 May: 6:30pm
Wednesday 3 May: 7pm
Thursday 4 May: 7pm
Friday 5 May: 7pm
Saturday 6 May: 1:30pm & 7pm
Sunday 7 May: 1:30pm
Tuesday 9 May: 6:30pm (post-show Q&A)
Wednesday 10 May: 7pm
Thursday 11 May: 7pm
Friday 12 May: 7pm
Saturday 13 May: 1:30pm & 7pm (both Auslan interpreted)
Sunday 14 May: 5pm (closing night)

 

Image: Actor Daisy Coyle image by Robert Frith.