The Eisteddfod

When:
July 7, 2017 8:00 pm
Where:
State Theatre Centre of WA
Web:
http://www.bsstc.com.au

An award-winning hit at the New York International Fringe Festival, The Eisteddfod explores the nostalgic childhood world of orphaned siblings Abalone and his sister, Gerture. They are inseparable and love to play games together.

Abalone’s passion for amateur dramatics is a growing obsession, however Gerture’s interest in the imaginary worlds they create to stave off boredom is beginning to wane. But there is one final role-playing game Abalone thinks will bring his sister around and be sure to win him the ultimate prize – that first place ribbon at the Eisteddfod, with their rendition of Macbeth and Lady Macbeth.

The Eisteddfod playwright Lally Katz emerged from the Melbourne indie theatre scene to become one of Australia’s hottest playwrights, and is currently one of the most performed nationally. Katz’s disembodied voice leads the audience on a comic and somewhat unsettling journey throughout the play. It is an intricate story, deftly told and an exciting, unpredictable production about the drama of growing up.

Black Swan State Theatre Company present The Eisteddfod from 22 June to 9 July. Tickets available through Ticketek here.

Show dates and times:

Thursday 22 June: 8pm (preview)
Friday 23 June: 8pm (preview)
Saturday 24 June: 8pm (opening night)
Tuesday 27 June: 6:30pm
Wednesday 28 June: 6:30pm
Thursday 29 June: 8pm
Friday 30 June: 8pm
Saturday 1 July: 1pm & 8pm
Tuesday 4 July: 6:30pm (post-show Q&A)
Wednesday 5 July: 6:30pm
Thursday 6 July: 8pm
Friday 7 July: 8pm
Saturday 8 July: 4pm & 8pm
Sunday 9 July: 5pm (closing night)

Image: Actors Natalie Holmwood and Brendan Ewing, credit Robert Frith.