Shostakovich: The Complete String Quartets

February 17, 2017 to
February 19, 2017
Winthrop Hall, University of Western Australia

Performed with absolute precision by fearless musicians the Brodsky Quartet, Shostakovich: The Complete String Quartets is a rare and indulgent treat.

Join the legendary Brodsky Quartet over five concerts for an acoustic journey like no other as they perform the complete 15 string quartets that make up the ‘Shostakovich Cycle’. As the Quartet traverse each movement, Shostakovich’s music paints a vivid picture of the brilliant and tortured composer’s life behind the Iron Curtain.

Program 1
Fri 17 Feb, 8:30pm
Quartet No. 1 in C major, Op. 49
Quartet No. 2 in A major, Op. 68
Quartet No. 3 in F major, Op. 73

Program 2
Sat 18 Feb, 2:30pm
Quartet No. 6 in G major, Op. 101
Quartet No. 4 in D major, Op. 83
Quartet No. 5 in B fl at major, Op. 92

Program 3
Sat 18 Feb, 7:30pm
Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor, Op. 108
Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op. 110
Quartet No. 9 in E fl at major, Op. 117

Program 4
Sun 19 Feb, 2:30pm
Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 122
Quartet No. 12 in D fl at major, Op. 133
Quartet No. 13 in B fl at minor, Op. 138
Quartet No. 14 in F sharp major, Op. 142

Program 5
Sun 19 Feb, 7:30pm
Quartet No. 10 in A fl at major, Op. 118
Quartet No. 15 in E fl at minor, Op. 144

Head here for tickets.


Photo by Eric Richmond.